Funding Your Property

Who Is Eligible to Raise Funding Against Their Property With MyBrix?

Who can raise funding against their property with MyBrix — the property and minimum-holding criteria in the PDS, and how eligibility is confirmed.

Flat vector illustration of a house beside an open arched doorway, with a vertical column of four small rounded markers alongside

To raise funding against your property with MyBrix, you need to be an Australian property owner whose property meets MyBrix’s criteria. As at July 2026, the Product Disclosure Statement (PDS) describes the eligible property as an Australian residential property, listed subject to MyBrix’s own criteria. Owner-occupied homes are the primary case, and the MyBrix FAQ says some investment properties may also be eligible. One rule sits at the centre of it: once funding completes, you must keep a minimum share of your property — generally 20%.

“Against your property” is the natural way to ask the question, but it can mislead. MyBrix funding is not a loan and not borrowing. You raise funds by selling fractional interests in your property to investors, not by taking on debt secured against it.

Each property listed on MyBrix is divided into 10,000 units called Brix. A Brix is a fractional economic interest — a defined share of a property’s future economic benefits, and a financial product under Chapter 7 of the Corporations Act 2001 (Cth). Selling Brix is not a sale of your title. You remain the registered legal owner, and a first-ranking mortgage is intended to be registered at settlement, held on trust for all Brix holders.

Here is the eligibility picture at a glance, as at July 2026:

CriterionWhat the PDS and TMD state
OwnerAustralian property owner meeting MyBrix criteria
PropertyEligible Australian residential property
Property useOwner-occupied primary; some investment may qualify
Minimum owner holdingGenerally 20% (2,000 of 10,000 Brix)
Lower holdingFor example 10%, case by case
Maximum term10 years (shorter may be agreed)

What kind of property is eligible?

The property must be an Australian residential property. The PDS states that eligible residential properties may be listed subject to MyBrix’s criteria, and the Target Market Determination (TMD) — the document that describes who a product is designed for — refers on the owner side to “an eligible Australian residential property”. So the property itself has to be Australian and residential.

Owner-occupied residential property is the primary case. The MyBrix FAQ adds that some investment properties may also be eligible. Neither the PDS nor the TMD publishes the exact rule that decides which investment properties qualify — both speak only of an “eligible Australian residential property” — so, as at July 2026, that rule is not a published criterion, and it is confirmed with MyBrix directly.

Beyond “Australian residential”, the PDS and TMD do not publish a property value range, a list of eligible locations within Australia, or a maximum existing-mortgage or loan-to-value (LVR) limit. A full read of the PDS and TMD as at July 2026 confirms none of these is specified. Those are not stated criteria, so this article does not state them either — any such threshold is confirmed directly with MyBrix.

How much of your property must you keep?

Once funding completes, you must retain a minimum holding of Brix. As at July 2026 that minimum is generally 20% — 2,000 of the 10,000 Brix. Lower holdings, such as 10%, may be approved case by case.

In plain terms: after funding, you still hold at least a fifth of your property’s economic interest, and investors hold the Brix you sold. This is a floor set by MyBrix, not a target — the specific minimum for any listing is agreed before the property is listed.

Is there a residency or citizenship requirement?

No residency or citizenship requirement for the owner is stated in the PDS or the TMD. What the documents fix is the property: it must be an eligible Australian residential property. They do not set out a test based on where the owner lives or what passport they hold.

Two location-related statements do appear, and neither is an owner-eligibility test. The PDS carries a distribution restriction (§3): “This Product Disclosure Statement is not to be distributed or made available outside Australia.” The TMD separately excludes from its target market consumers who “are located in jurisdictions where participation is restricted or unlawful”.

Because the documents are silent on the owner’s residency or citizenship, this article does not say whether a non-resident can or cannot use MyBrix — the PDS and TMD do not decide it either way. A foreign person’s position under Australia’s foreign-investment rules is a separate legal question that these documents do not resolve. A full read of the PDS (§3/§6) and TMD as at July 2026 confirms neither sets an owner residency or citizenship requirement. Confirm onboarding requirements directly with MyBrix, and seek legal advice on any foreign-investment considerations before proceeding.

How does MyBrix confirm whether you’re eligible?

Eligibility is confirmed through MyBrix’s own assessment process rather than a single published checklist. As at July 2026 the PDS sets out these steps:

  1. Application — you apply to list the property.
  2. Consultation — MyBrix discusses your situation and the terms.
  3. Financial assessment — carried out if required.
  4. Valuation — by an independent licensed valuer, typically taking about two to four weeks.
  5. Initial Brix Offering (IBO) — the offer through which investors buy the property’s Brix and your funding is raised.

If the funding threshold is not reached at the Initial Brix Offering, the listing may not proceed. As at July 2026, the maximum term of a MyBrix arrangement is 10 years, and a shorter term may be agreed.

Some of these steps carry fees, and it is worth knowing about them up front. As at July 2026 the PDS lists a Property Assessment fee of $99, a Manual Assessment (licensed valuer) fee of $999 where that applies, and a Funding Application fee of $1,499 without a manual assessment or $1,999 with one. These fees are non-refundable unless stated, and the PDS notes they may be payable even if funding does not proceed.

What don’t the published documents decide about eligibility?

The PDS and TMD set out the property type, the minimum owner holding, and the maximum term. They do not publish every threshold a reader might expect. Being clear about the gaps is part of an honest answer.

As at July 2026, the following are not specified in the PDS or TMD:

  • Property value ranges or minimums.
  • Which Australian locations qualify.
  • Any existing-mortgage or loan-to-value limit.
  • A credit-history or income eligibility test — the PDS refers to a “financial assessment (if required)” without publishing its criteria.
  • Owner residency or citizenship.
  • The specific rule for which investment properties qualify.

A full read of the PDS and TMD as at July 2026 confirms none of these thresholds is specified — including any credit-history or income test, where the PDS names a “financial assessment (if required)” without publishing its criteria. Each is a matter to confirm directly with MyBrix, whose consultation and assessment steps exist to work through them.

How is MyBrix licensed, and who can help if something goes wrong?

Eligibility sits inside a regulated structure, so it helps to know how to check it. MyBrix’s footer states its authorisation in short form: “MyBrix is CAR 1304961 for AFS Licence No: 269868.” CAR stands for corporate authorised representative — MyBrix acts as an authorised representative of the licensee that holds the Australian Financial Services (AFS) licence.

Platforms offering financial products to Australian retail investors must hold an AFS licence or act as an authorised representative of a licensee under the Corporations Act 2001. A PDS must be given when a product is offered, and design and distribution obligations (Part 7.8A, in force since 5 October 2021) require a public Target Market Determination. You can check a licensee or an authorised representative on ASIC’s free registers. As Moneysmart, ASIC’s free consumer website, notes, holding a licence is not an endorsement of a product.

If a dispute arises, members provide access to the Australian Financial Complaints Authority (AFCA), which describes itself as “a free, fair and independent dispute resolution scheme” for complaints about financial products and services. AFCA is not a regulator, and membership is not an endorsement.

The eligibility terms in full sit in the MyBrix Product Disclosure Statement and Target Market Determination, both available at mybrix.com.au. Reading them is the reliable way to check the current criteria before you apply.

For the wider set of non-debt ways to access home equity, see our guide to accessing home equity without a loan. Eligibility is only one part of the picture — our separate guides to the risks of home equity release and to comparing home equity access options cover the costs and trade-offs that sit alongside it. General information can map the criteria; it cannot weigh them for your circumstances, and a licensed professional can.

Brian Stevens

Founder & CEO, MyBrix

Brian Stevens is the Founder and CEO of MyBrix, with decades of experience in finance and property. His understanding of the property market and financial services landscape shapes MyBrix's approach to fractional property funding and investment.

Authors write general information only — they are not your adviser.